Bob Seger’s and Don Draper’s “Hollywood Nights”

I was listening to Bob Seger’s “Hollywood Nights” while driving in yesterday, really listening to the music and lyrics like I do sometimes. I realized that they (read: the music industry) doesn’t make songs like that any more. It’s a fast paced tune with background singers about meeting a girl, falling in something, waking up with her gone and trying to figure out what to do. He’s got nothing but memories.

No one writes that kind of song anymore. It’s all about chasing someone or breaking up with them. Before and After. And both of those things are going to be permanent. The only thing that’s temporary is the current state you’re in.

But i was reminded of Don Draper’s trip to California for the Space conference and how he ended spending what? 2 weeks out there? I have to go back and rewatch the show to see if Don thought it was temporary or permanent. I mean, he was facing getting exposed back at the office. But isn’t that how things start sometimes: you fall in love with the ephemeral and temporary and you stick with it hoping it will be permanent.

Everything’s temporal now. Maybe that’s why we don’t have songs like that because we already live stories like that IRL. People communicate what they need, not what they have. People want the stability of a relationship or the comfort that what they are going through is temporary.

5 Comments

  1. whoah this blog is wonderful i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You already know, a lot of people are looking round for this information, you can help them greatly.

  2. I used to be able to find good advice from your blog articles.

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on
    the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on
    just posting videos to your blog when you could be
    giving us something informative to read?

  4. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  5. great publish, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of
    this sector do not notice this. You should proceed your
    writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

